Author Topic: VGA cable length  (Read 2169 times)

Offline Narei Mooncatt

• Knight of the Road
  • Male
VGA cable length
« on: November 07, 2009, 05:41:11 pm »
I'm looking to run a longer than normal length of VGA cable. I'm running 6ft each from 2 laptops to a single powered VGA switcher, and then looking at about 40ft from the switcher to a projector. Would I need to worry about signal loss over that long of a distance? I'm not thinking I will for that kind of run, but wanting to make sure before I get to my gig at MFF.
I've got a 53' tail. Truck driver by trade, professional tourist by choice.

Offline McMajik

• Species: Variable
  • Silly Majik tried to do magic, now it's a birdy.
Re: VGA cable length
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2009, 07:30:35 pm »
Hmm...well, it does carry an analogue signal, so there probably would be some signal loss, especially if you ran it along side power cables, or other cables that carry a charge. But, it shouldn't be very noticable. I'd go for a HDMI lead if the ports were available, but a VGA lead would be fine if not.

Offline Narei Mooncatt

• Knight of the Road
  • Male
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2009, 07:36:30 pm »
One laptop and the projector have DVI ports, and one laptop has HDMI. I know I could get converters to make those work, but that's just more money for likely no noticable benefit since the projector is 1024X768 resolution. Just the cables alone would cost an extra $65 plus more expensive switchers and adaptors. I guess I should have mentioned too that the 40 ft run would be several extender cables and not one single run most likely. I'm trying to find a single cable to use though.

Offline McMajik

• Species: Variable
  • Silly Majik tried to do magic, now it's a birdy.
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2009, 08:08:26 pm »