Author Topic: Commodore 64 is back.... sort of.  (Read 1877 times)

Offline Narei Mooncatt

• Knight of the Road
  • Male
Commodore 64 is back.... sort of.
« on: April 09, 2011, 11:23:43 am »
Seems the licensing rights for the Commodore (and thus Amiga as well) have been bought and a company is now making an all in one type computer with today's technology that is encased in a traditional C-64 case. They can run a new Commodore OS that would even allow you to play old 8 bit C-64 games (from a CD or emulation), or let you install Windows or Linux.

News article here

http://www.commodoreusa.net/CUSA_C64.aspx

Cool.  8)
I've got a 53' tail. Truck driver by trade, professional tourist by choice.

Offline Landrav

• Flufftaur
  • Male
    • My FA
Re: Commodore 64 is back.... sort of.
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2011, 11:46:28 am »
Very cool.  I'm not old enough to have used a lot of computer technology from that era, but it's really cool to see all this making a comeback :3  Are you planning on getting one?
http://www.furaffinity.net/user/landrav/

I am contractually obliged to state that Fluttershy is the best pony.

Offline Dusty

• Male
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2011, 11:50:51 am »
Yeah, someone that I'm subscribed to on YouTube brought this up today. I think it is a slightly pointless idea because real C64s are pretty damn cheap and the only characteristics that the PC that site is advertising shares with the C64 are purely cosmetic. Apparently they send you the PC with Linux on a CD and then they'll send you the C64 emulator later when they've actually finished writing it because they haven't done so yet. Just more people trying to get rich quick by tugging on people's heart-strings, I guess.

Offline Foxpup

• Species: Cyborg Fox
  • Male
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2011, 10:18:55 pm »