Author Topic: I did it! Ran my first 5k race.  (Read 584 times)

Offline Drake Blackpaw

• Male
    • http://www.drakebp.furtopia.org/
I did it! Ran my first 5k race.
« on: October 08, 2011, 06:14:06 pm »
(if you just want to see how I did, scroll to the bottom)

One goal I set for myself this year was to run a 5k race.  Before I started training  I had never run at all.  I mean, I failed the run a mile test for physical fitness when I was Junior High.  The idea of running seemed like a foreign concept to me, like you had to be some kind of alien to want to do it.  However, I had a couple of things happen that got me focused on getting more fit.  I started skiing again and my stamina for staying out and skiing wasn't as much as I liked and then during my annual physical my doctor nicely lectured me on how much weight I had gained over the past 5 years.  I then heard a program on the radio talking about a couch to 5k program and it actually sounded like something I could do.  When I found an inexpensive app on my iPhone to take you through the program, I decided it try it.

Many months later, running on a treadmill or an indoor track 3 times a week, I finally got to a point where I felt I could handle a 5k race.  At the Y I saw that there was a local 5k race being held today and took the plunge and registered for it.

The race started at 8:30 this morning, which is early for me on a weekend, but I dragged my self to it.  The asked you to line up by how fast you thought you were going to be and since this was my first race, I put myself in the middle of the group.  I was runner #1075 and I saw someone with a number over 2000, so there was a lot of people taking part in the race.   From the couple of times I tried running on the street before, I expected to run the course somewhere between 35 and 40 minutes.  The course had some up and downhill sections, so I knew it would be more taxing then my regular runs on the treadmill or indoor track.