Author Topic: SK gives the writing thing a try. "Sales Meeting"  (Read 1171 times)

Offline Sk Skunk

• TANSTAAFL
  • Male
SK gives the writing thing a try. "Sales Meeting"
« on: June 04, 2011, 12:15:56 am »
The story came to me in dream form some time ago. I started with the dream, and made a little story. I have not done anything like this since high school, so I hope this works.

Sales meeting

“ The wonderful thing about the P340 control unit is its simple, fully modular nature”

I had been peddling these things for several years. Going to trade shows, doing sales calls and installations. One would never expect a sales meeting to change your life. Even less expected would be the way you think about the nature of life itself.

“The P340 may be simple to use, but it can handle complex system monitoring, or the most basic motor control operations. Even better is the fact that . . . ” The convention center rumbled from the thunder of the storm outside. “Even better is the fact that one basic unit does both jobs. This means spare units can be kept to a minimum. Let’s face a bit of reality.  We work under extreme environments. If a unit is damaged, it can be quickly replaced, and the operating system reloaded from a standard micro drive” Another lightning strike, this time the power surged as the building rumbled.

In sales, you meet people on a daily basis. There have been a few customers that have become friends. One of these became a good friend. Ray Roberts bought some of the first equipment I sold when I got into this business. At another convention, I was with him when we met some women at a nightclub, one of whom would become his wife. I stood with him at the wedding.