Author Topic: Adult Furries With Non-Furry Partners Continued...  (Read 5447 times)

Offline Starla

• Female
Adult Furries With Non-Furry Partners Continued...
« on: November 12, 2013, 11:21:14 am »
I wanted to respond to this thread but apparently a new one must be started as the original thread is over six months old?! I don't really understand this high-tech world I find myself in...
Anywho, I wanted to get in on this topic as it is rather close to my heart. I am a recently-discovered furry, that is, I have always been a furry but didn't know there was a name for it or a massive following!
My fiance is a non-furry and struggles to understand the fandom. Moreover, he struggles to understand why we would want to fursuit and behave as our fursonas with other furries and even in public.
I suppose because I am fairly new to how other furries express themselves, I can't necessarily explain this to him and the knock-on effect from that is embarrassment on my part.
As a teenager I used to wear a collar and had furry artwork strewn about my room. I didn't have to explain myself to anyone. But now I'm older and I share my life with someone else, there are certain hobbies I have toned-down in order to fit in with society I suppose. Sad, when I relay it in this manner, but true.
So I am struggling at the moment, having found an outlet - this wonderful world of furry that literally thousands of other people are part of too and I find myself holding back at home and trying to keep my furry-self a secret.
Are there any other furries out there experiencing similar dilemmas? A partner who just doesn't get it?