Author Topic: I'm heading off...  (Read 5071 times)

Offline Itico

• Aging/Disabled/library advocate, writer, scientist
  • Male
I'm heading off...
« on: November 21, 2010, 11:19:29 am »
Good morning furries,

In reality, it is two days before my 39th birthday and I have been thinking about myself, my future and furries.  I have been hanging around furries for roughly 14 years, I've met some great people and I've met some real idiots and that is to be expected.  I believe that I have been a pretty good friend to those who were friends with me and I pretty much ignored those who did not show me a minimum of respect.  Overall, I think that I have been pretty lucky.

Truth is though, I have never really felt comfortable calling myself a furry.  Sure, I like the art and I like some of the people, but there is so much else in the fandom that I have no interest in.  I'm not about to say that anything is good or bad, it's just not for me.  Take forums, for instance.  I've been a member of a lot of forums, and I just can never really get into them.  I go in spurts now and then, then I forget about them and they go to the back of the shelf to be picked up years later.  I know that forums can be helpful for some times and I have even found them helpful at times, again I am not suggesting that forums or the use of them is somehow bad.  Truth of the matter is that I'm blind and I don't like to sit there reading off the computer screen because it is so slow for me.  Yes, I have a talking computer now and that is even slower still.