Author Topic: Starting A Short Story?  (Read 5430 times)

Offline Madam Glitch

• Species: Dragon
  • The Madam of the Glitches
  • Female
    • DeviantART
Starting A Short Story?
« on: June 24, 2013, 03:16:09 pm »
I wanted to ask those of you who are writers here a question or two. I've been writing since I was in the fifth grade (I graduated from high school in 2010 if that helps), and I have only a few completed works. Anyhow, could you writers here answer these two questions please:

• How do you start your short stories out?
  • How do you keep Writer's Block away?
"I see now that the circumstances of one's birth are irrelevant; it is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are"
--Mewtwo

Offline Old Rabbit

• Species: Rabbit Artist
  • Birthday wisher.
  • Male
    • Art by Oldrabbit
Re: Starting A Short Story?
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 12:17:20 pm »
   I haven't written very many stories, but I usually start a story giving the
reader a little background and the setting for the story. Then I do the same for
the main characters so the reader can pick up on their  personalities. Not all at
once of course  Then as the story progresses one can add more when needed.

I don't think there is any magic way of dealing with writers block. It's part of
what every creative person has to deal with now and then. I usually just set
the story or drawing aside for a day or two. Sometimes a fresh look helps.

Hope that's helpful. :orbunny:

One other thing that might help. Write stories you like, trying to write something
you really don't care about will make it much harder to write a good story. Write to
please your self, not others.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2013, 12:24:11 pm by Old Rabbit »
oldrabbit.com

Offline Madam Glitch

• Female
    • DeviantART
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 12:32:36 pm »
Alright. I'll try that out.
"I see now that the circumstances of one's birth are irrelevant; it is what you do with the gift of life that determines who you are"